Text Size -A+

News Archives

  • print
  • FAQs

This article is in the news archives --- for current news go to the Third Branch News.


All news

New Committee Chairs Named By Chief Justice

September 20, 2011

Chief Justice John G. Roberts Jr. has named eight judges as new committee chairs for the Judicial Conference of the United States, and has extended the service of three judges as committee chairs.

The 26-member Conference, with the Chief Justice as its presiding officer, is the policy-making body for the federal court system. Most recommendations for its policy decisions come from its various standing committees.

The new committee chairs, whose appointments take effect October 1, 2011, are:

  • Judge John M. Rogers of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the 6th Circuit, Committee on Codes of Conduct
  • Judge Richard W. Story of the Northern District of Georgia, Committee on Federal-State Jurisdiction
  • Judge Joseph H. McKinley Jr. of the Western District of Kentucky, Committee on Financial Disclosure
  • Judge Timothy Tymkovich of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the 10th Circuit, Committee on Judicial Resources
  • Judge Nancy Atlas of the Southern District of Texas, Committee on Judicial Security
  • Judge Mark R. Kravitz of the District of Connecticut, Committee on Rules of Practice and Procedure
  • Judge David G. Campbell of the District of Arizona, Advisory Committee on Civil Rules
  • Judge Reena Raggi of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the 2nd Circuit, Advisory Committee on Criminal Rules.

Chief Justice Roberts also extended the service of these committee chairs:

  • Judge Claire V. Eagan of the Northern District of Oklahoma, Committee on Defender Services
  • Judge Rosemary M. Collyer of the District of the District Columbia, Committee on Information Technology
  • Judge Frederick Motz of the District of Maryland, Committee on Intercircuit Assignments.