Text Size -A+

July 2008

  • print
  • FAQs

This article is in the news archives --- for current news go to the Third Branch News.


New Executive Committee Members Named

Judge Alan B. Johnson (D. Wyo.)

Chief Judge David B. Sentelle (D.C. Cir.)

Two new members have been appointed by Chief Justice John Roberts Jr. to the Executive Committee of the Judicial Conference.

Chief Judge David B. Sentelle (D.C. Cir.) and Judge Alan B. Johnson (D. Wyo.) replace outgoing committee members Judge Michael Boudin (1st Cir.) and Judge Thomas F. Hogan (D.D.C.).

Both Johnson and Sentelle are currently members of the Judicial Conference. Johnson is the district court representative to the Judicial Conference from the Tenth Circuit. He was appointed to the federal bench in 1985.

Sentelle also was appointed to the federal bench in 1985, and was elevated to the D.C. Circuit in 1987. He served as the chair of the Judicial Conference Committee on Judicial Security, and has served as a member of both the Committee on Codes of Conduct and the Committee on Court Administration and Case Management.

The seven-member Executive Committee serves as the senior executive arm of the Conference and is authorized to act on behalf of the Conference, if necessary, between its biannual sessions. In addition to Johnson and Sentelle, the members of the Executive Committee are Committee chair Chief Judge Anthony J. Scirica (3rd Cir.), Chief Judge Danny J. Boggs (6th Cir.), Judge Charles R. Breyer (N.D. Calif.), Chief Judge Paul R. Michel (Fed. Cir.), Judge Lawrence L. Piersol (D. S.D.), and ex officio member, James C. Duff, Director of the Administrative Office.