Text-Size -A+

April 2009

  • print
  • FAQs

This article is in the news archives --- for current news go to the Third Branch News.


Senate Subcommittee Leadership Now Set

Leadership on those Senate subcommittees whose jurisdiction includes the federal courts has been set.

Senator Richard J. Durbin (D-IL) remains chair of the Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on Financial Services and General Government, but with a new ranking minority member, Senator Susan Collins (R-ME), who succeeds Senator Sam Brownback (R-KS).

Senator Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI) is the new chair of the Senate Judiciary Subcommittee on Administrative Oversight and the Courts, succeeding Senator Chuck Schumer (D-NY). Senator Jeff Sessions (R-AL) is the ranking minority member on the subcommittee, as he was in the 110th Congress. Senator Patrick Leahy (D-VT) and Senator Arlen Specter (R-PA) once again are chair and ranking minority member of the full Judiciary Committee.