Text-Size -A+

May 2009

  • print
  • FAQs

This article is in the news archives --- for current news go to the Third Branch News.


2009-2010 Supreme Court Fellows Named

The U.S. Supreme Court Fellows for the 2009—2010 Program have been selected. Melissa Aubin, formerly a staff attorney from the U.S. District Court for the District of Oregon, and Timothy F. Averill, previously an administrator and general counsel for the Louisiana Supreme Court, will continue their 2008—2009 fellowships. Aubin is a Fellow at the Supreme Court and Averill is at the Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts.

Irina G. Axelrod-Angres is a new Fellow and comes to the program from the Nevada Supreme Court, where she is a staff attorney in the civil division. She will be a Fellow at the Federal Judicial Center.

Stephen E. Vance joins the Supreme Court Fellows Program from the District of Columbia Sentencing and Criminal Code Revision Commission, where he is a staff attorney. He will be a Fellow at the U.S. Sentencing Commission.

The Supreme Court Fellows Program was founded by Chief Justice Warren Burger to provide individuals from diverse professions and academic backgrounds with an opportunity to study firsthand both the administrative machinery of the federal Judiciary and the dynamics of interbranch relations. Work assignments and projects reflect the needs of the Judiciary and the interests and capabilities of the Fellows. Fellows gain insights into the contemporary policy issues facing the Judiciary, as well as an appreciation of the nature of judicial administration. For more on the program, visit the Supreme Court’s website at www.fellows.supremecourtus.gov/message.php.