Text Size -A+

October 2009

  • print
  • FAQs

This article is in the news archives --- for current news go to the Third Branch News.


New Committee Chairs Named

Four current committee members have been named by Chief Justice John Roberts, Jr., to chair their respective Judicial Conference committees. Their appointments began October 1, 2009.

Judge Julie A. Robinson (D. Kan.) succeeds Judge John R. Tunheim (D. Minn.) as chair of the Committee on Court Administration and Case Management.

Judge George H. King (C.D. Cal.) succeeds Judge Dennis M. Cavanaugh (D. NJ) as chair of the Committee on the Administration of the Magistrate Judges System.

Judge Jeffrey S. Sutton (6th Cir.) succeeds Judge Carl E. Stewart (5th Cir.) as chair of the Advisory Committee on Appellate Rules.

Judge Michael A. Ponsor (D. Mass.) succeeds Chief Judge Joseph F. Bataillon (D. Neb.) as chair of the Committee on Space and Facilities.

With the exception of the Executive, Judicial Branch, and Budget Committees, committee chairs usually serve for a term of three years. Six years of cumulative committee service usually is considered the maximum a member may serve. The Judicial Conference operates through a network of committees created to address and advise on a wide variety of subjects.