Text Size -A+

June 2010

  • print
  • FAQs

This article is in the news archives --- for current news go to the Third Branch News.


Sentelle to Chair Executive Committee

(click to enlarge)

Chief Judge David Bryan Sentelle (D.C. Cir.)

Chief Justice John G. Roberts Jr. has appointed Chief Judge David Bryan Sentelle (D.C. Cir.), chairman of the Executive Committee of the Judicial Conference.

In making the appointment, Chief Justice Roberts said, “I had the privilege of being David Sentelle’s colleague when I served on the D.C. Circuit. I have seen, up close, his deep commitment to justice and broad knowledge of judicial administration. His outstanding leadership skills will serve both the Executive Committee and the Judicial Conference well.”

Sentelle’s appointment was effective last month. Sentelle, who has been a member of the Committee since June 2008, succeeds Judge Anthony Scirica (3rd Cir.), who chaired the Executive Committee since May 2008.

The seven-member Executive Committee serves as the senior executive arm of the Judicial Conference and is authorized to act on behalf of the Conference between its biannual sessions. Also serving on the Executive Committee are Chief Judges Joel F. Dubina (11th Cir.), and Jane A. Restani (CIT), and Judges Paul R. Michel (Fed. Cir.), Charles R. Breyer (N.D.Cal.), and Rodney W. Sippel (E.D.Mo). James C. Duff, Director of the Administrative Office, is an ex-officio member of the Committee.

Sentelle has substantial experience with the Judicial Conference and its committees. In addition to his tenure on the Executive Committee, he chaired the Committee on Judicial Security and was a member of the Codes of Conduct Committee and the Committee on Court Administration and Case Management.

Sentelle was appointed to the U.S. Court of Appeals for the D.C. Circuit in 1987 and became chief judge in February 2008. From 1985 to 1987, he served as a judge on the U.S. District Court for the Western District of North Carolina, Sentelle also was in private practice in Charlotte and Asheville, North Carolina and served as a judge on the North Carolina General Court of Justice in Charlotte.

He is a 1965 graduate of the University of North Carolina and graduated from the University of North Carolina School of Law in 1968.