Text-Size -A+

August 2010

  • print
  • FAQs

This article is in the news archives --- for current news go to the Third Branch News.


2010-2011 Supreme Court Fellows Named

A federal prosecutor, an environmental lawyer, a state Supreme Court administrator, and a federal court law clerk have been selected as the 2010–2011 class of the Supreme Court Fellows program.

The prestigious program, created in 1973 by then-Chief Justice Warren E. Burger, offers individuals from diverse professions and academic backgrounds a first-hand understanding of the federal government, particularly the Judicial Branch. The 2010–2011 fellows were selected by a nine-member commission appointed by Chief Justice John G. Roberts, Jr.

April Christine comes to the program from the Central District of California, where she is an assistant U.S. Attorney. She will work at the U.S. Supreme Court, where she will conduct research, brief visiting dignitaries, prepare analytical reports, and oversee the Judicial Internship Program.

Ryan Rowberry, an associate in the environment and natural resources division at a Washington, D.C., law firm, is assigned to the Federal Judicial Center. He will spend his fellowship year in the FJC’s International Division and Federal Judicial History Office.

Holly Sellers is the chief administrative officer of the Supreme Court of Connecticut. She will be a fellow at the Administrative Office of the United States Courts, where she will analyze studies requested by Congress or the Judicial Conference, and research the federal rule-making process within the AO’s Office of Judges’ Programs.

James Tysse, a law clerk for Judge Karen LeCraft Henderson of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the D.C. Circuit, will work at the U.S. Sentencing Commission. He will conduct legal research concerning sentencing guideline issues and legislative directives pending before the commission.

For more information on the program, visit the Supreme Court's website.