Text-Size -A+

February 2011

  • print
  • FAQs

This article is in the news archives --- for current news go to the Third Branch News.


New U.S. Marshals Service Director

The first female director of the U.S. Marshals Service, Stacia A. Hylton, was sworn in on December 31, 2010 in a ceremony officiated by Judge Claude M. Hilton (E.D. Va.) at the U.S. District Court in Alexandria, Virginia, and attended by family members. Hylton is the 10th director of the U.S. Marshals Service.

The appointment is a return for Hylton to the U.S. Marshals Service. From 1980 to 2004, she served as acting deputy director, assistant director for prisoner operations, chief deputy in the District of South Carolina, chief of judicial security programs, witness security inspector, U.S. Marshals Academy instructor, and as a member of the agency’s special operations group. In total, she has served in federal law enforcement within the Department of Justice for 29 years, including service as the federal detention trustee from 2004 to 2010.

“The Marshals Service has a rich and proud history and it is an honor to return to the agency and lead the men and women of this great organization,” Hylton said in a statement. “Like many law enforcement agencies, we face significant challenges, but I am confident the agency will continue to excel in the execution of our missions and work with our fellow law enforcement partners in securing our country.”

The new USMS director is a recipient of the Attorney General’s Edmund J. Randolph Award for outstanding contributions to the department’s mission and the Presidential Rank Award for Distinguished Service.

Hylton earned her bachelor’s degree in criminal justice from Northeastern University.

USMS Director Stacia Hylton with AO Director Jim Duff

USMS Director Stacia Hylton met last month with AO Director Jim Duff. Clockwise, from far left, Ross Eisenman, Associate Director of Facilities and Security at the AO, USMS Director Stacia Hylton, AO Director Jim Duff, USMS Deputy Director Chris Dudley, USMS Chief of Staff David Anderson, and Ed Templeman, Chief AO Court Security Office.