

AMERICAN BAR ASSOCIATION

SECTION OF LITIGATION

321 North Clark Street Chicago, IL 60654-7598 (312) 988-5662 FAX: (312) 988-6234 http://www.abanet.org/litigation

Please reply to: Arnall Golden Gregory LLP
Suite 2100
171 17th Street, NW
Atlanta, Georgia 30363
robert.rothman@agg.com

October 22, 2008

08-CV-038

VIA FIRST-CLASS MAIL

Mr. Mark R. Kravitz Richard C. Lee United States Court House 141 Church Street New Haven, CT 06510

Re: Proposed Amendments to Fed. R. Civ. P. 26 (expert witness reports)

Dear Mr. Kravitz:

The Council of the Section of Litigation of the American Bar Association wholeheartedly supports the proposed amendments to Fed. R. Civ. P. 26 dealing with expert witnesses. The June 30, 2008 report of the Civil Rules Advisory Committee thoughtfully explains why these proposed amendments should be adopted as soon as practicable.

We would be pleased to assist the Standing Committee and Civil Rules Advisory Committee in any way to see that these amendments are adopted. As the report notes, they are consistent with existing ABA policy and meet the needs of the practicing bar and the public in fulfilling the mandate of Fed. R. Civ. P. 1 to "secure the just, speedy, and inexpensive determination of every action and proceeding."

Respectfully yours,

ROBERT L. ROTHMAN

Robert L. Rothman Chair, Section of Litigation

CHAIR Robert L. Rothman Arnall Golden Gregory LLP 171 17th Street, NW Suite 2100 Atlanta, GA 30363 (404) 873-8668 **CHAIR-ELECT** Lorna G. Schofield New York, NY VICE-CHAIR Hılarıe Bass Mıamı, FL SECRETARY Meghan Magrude Atlanta, GA **BUDGET OFFICER** Laurence F. Pulgram San Francisco, CA REVENUE OFFICER Jeffrey J. Greenbaum Newark, NI SECTION DELEGATES TO THE HOUSE OF DELEGATES JoAnne A. Epps (2010) Philadelphia, PA Lawrence J. Fox (2011) Philadelphia, PA Patricia Lee Refo (2009) Phoenix, AZ David C. Weiner (2011) Cleveland, OH IMMEDIATE PAST SECTION CHAIR Judith A. Miller San Francisco, CA **FORMER CHAIRS** Kım J. Askew Dallas, TX Brad D. Brian COUNCIL MEMBERS John M. Barkett (2009) Miami, Fl Ronald W. Breaux (2010) Dallas, TX Paulette Brown (2011) Short Hills, N Phyllis V Craig-Taylor (2011) Charlotte, NC Julianne Farnsworth (2009) Charleston, SC Sheldon M. Finkelstein (2011) Newark, NJ John B. Isbister (2011) Baltimore, MD Beth L. Kaufman (2009) New York, NY Laura H. Kennedy (2009) Phoenix, AZ Jeffrey J. Kroll (2010) Chicago, IL Michael P. Lynn (2011)
Dallas, TX Ronald L. Marmer (2010) Chicago, IL Raymond C. Marshall (2011) San Francisco, CA Deana S. Peck (2010) Phoenix, AZ James A. Reeder, Jr. (2010) Houston, TX Robert E. Schaberg (2009) San Francisco, CA Ralph A. Taylor, Jr. (2010) Washington, DC Geoffrey Vitt (2009) Hanover, NH BOARD OF GOVERNORS REPRESENTATIVE Don Bivens Phoenix, AZ **GOVERNMENTAL REPRESENTATIVE** James C. Duff Washington, DC YOUNG LAWYERS DIVISION REPRESENTATIVE Maralee MacDonald ADJUNCT YLD REPRESENTATIVE Keathan Frink Fort Lauderdale, FI LAW STUDENT DIVISION REPRESENTATIVE Lake Bluff, IL

> DIRECTOR Jeanne L Nowaczewski (312) 988-5592

2479199v1

