Text Size -A+

September 2000

  • print
  • FAQs

This article is in the news archives --- for current news go to the Third Branch News.


Chief Justice Names Six New Committee Chairs, Extends Three Terms

Six committees of the Judicial Conference have new chairs this fall. The appointments to replace chairs whose terms had expired were made by Chief Justice William H. Rehnquist, who at the same time extended the terms of three incumbent chairs. All committee chair terms began October 1, with one exception.

Judge Lourdes G. Baird (C.D. Calif.) succeeds Judge Edward B. Davis (S.D. Fla.) as chair of the Com-mittee on the Administrative Office. Baird's term of office began July 1, 2000. Judge Edwin L. Nelson (N.D. Ala.) succeeds Judge Edward W. Nottingham (D. Colo.) as chair of the Committee on Automation and Technology. Judge John W. Lungstrum (D. Kan.) succeeds Chief Judge D. Brock Hornby (D. Me.) as chair of the Committee on Court Administration and Case Management. Judge James C. Cacheris (E.D. Va.) succeeds Judge Stanley S. Harris (D. D.C.) as chair of the Committee on Intercircuit Assign-ments. Bankruptcy Judge A. Thomas Small (E.D. N.C.) succeeds Judge Adrian G. Duplantier (E.D. La.) as chair of the Advisory Committee on Bankruptcy Rules. Judge David F. Levi (E.D. Calif.) succeeds Judge Paul Niemeyer (4th Cir.) as chair of the Advisory Committee on Civil Rules.

Three incumbent chairs will continue for an extended term of one year. They are Judge Will L. Garwood (5th Cir.), chair of the Advisory Committee on Appellate Rules; Judge William J. Bauer (7th Cir.), chair of the Committee to Review Circuit Council Conduct and Disability Orders; and Judge W. Eugene Davis (5th Cir.), chair of the Advisory Committee on Criminal Rules.

By delegation from the Judicial Conference, the Chief Justice makes all appointments to Conference committees and determines tenure. He is assisted by the Judicial Conference Secretary, AO Director Leonidas Ralph Mecham. Committee chairs, with the exception of the Executive, Judicial Branch, and Bud-get Committees, generally serve for a term of three years. Five to six years of cumulative committee service, including past committee assignments, is considered the maximum a member may serve.