Text-Size -A+

September 2008

  • print
  • FAQs

This article is in the news archives --- for current news go to the Third Branch News.


New Chairs Head Six Conference Committees

Chief Justice John Roberts, Jr., has appointed six new Judicial Conference Committee chairs and extended the terms of two current chairs.

Judge M. Margaret McKeown (9th Cir.) succeeds Judge Gordon J. Quist (W.D. Mich.) as chair of the Committee on Codes of Conduct; Judge Claire V. Eagan (N.D. Okla.) succeeds Judge John Gleeson (E.D. NY) as chair of the Committee on Defender Services; Judge Bobby R. Baldock (10th Cir.) succeeds Judge Ortrie D. Smith (W.D. Mo.) as chair of the Committee on Financial Disclosure; Judge Rosemary M. Collyer (D. D.C.) succeeds Judge Thomas I. Vanaskie (M.D. Pa.) as chair of the Committee on Information Technology, and Judge John Walker Jr. (2nd Cir.) succeeds Judge Ralph K. Winter (2nd Cir.) as chair of the Committee on Judicial Conduct and Disability. Terms for the new chairs begin October 1, 2008. Judge J. Frederick Motz (D. Md.) succeeded Chief Judge Royce C. Lamberth (D.D.C.) as chair of the Committee on Intercircuit Assignments. His appointment was effective June 2, 2008.   

The reappointed chairs are Judge John R. Tunheim (D. Minn.), chair of the Committee on Court Administration and Case Management, and Judge Carl E. Stewart (5th Cir.), chair of the Advisory Committee on Appellate Rules.

The Judicial Conference operates through a network of committees created to address and advise on a wide variety of subjects. Appointments to Conference committees are made by the Chief Justice. With the exception of the Executive, Judicial Branch, and Budget Committees, committee chairs usually serve for a term of three years. Six years of cumulative committee service usually is considered the maximum a member may serve.