Text Size -A+

September 1996

  • print
  • FAQs

This article is in the news archives --- for current news go to the Third Branch News.


Alien Terrorist Removal Court Members Selected

The five members of the new U.S. Alien Terrorist Removal Court have been appointed by Chief Justice Rehnquist. They are Judges Earl H. Carroll (D. Ariz.), who will serve as chief judge, Michael A. Telesca (W.D. N.Y.), David D. Dowd Jr. (N.D. Ohio), William C. O'Kelley (N.D. Ga.) and Alfred M. Wolin (D. N.J.). The length of appointment to the court is five years, although the original appointees will serve staggered terms of one to five years.

The court was created by the Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty Act of 1996, which was signed by the President on April 24, 1996, as P.L. 104-132. By law, the court consists of five U.S. district court judges from five judicial circuits. The court has the authority to conduct all proceedings based on applications for removal brought by the Attorney General to determine whether an alien should be removed from the United States on the grounds of being an alien terrorist.

The Alien Terrorist Removal Court is modeled after the special court created by the Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act. The court's decisions are appealable to the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia.