Main content

Federal Court Interpreter Certification Examination

The Federal Court Interpreter Certification Examination is offered for Spanish/English testing only. Learn more. 

Exam Registration
  • Registration for the 2016 FCICE Phase One, Written Examination is closed.
  • 2017 FCICE Phase Two, Oral Examination will be offered in the summer of 2017.

The Federal Court Interpreting Certification Examination, often referred to as the FCICE, is administered in two phases.

Phase One Written Examination

The written examination, offered on even years, is a computer-administered screener examination which includes a multiple choice test of English proficiency and a multiple choice test of Spanish proficiency. Registration for the 2016 exam is now closed.

Phase Two Oral Examination

The oral examination, offered on odd years, tests the ability to effectively perform the three modes of court interpreting: sight translation and simultaneous and consecutive interpretation of discourse, all of which must reflect the correct form and content of authentic interpreting functions encountered in the federal courts. 

Accordingly, the candidate is required to demonstrate the ability to effectively carry out these functions bi-directionally. Test items include both formal and informal/colloquial language, technical and legal terminology, and special vocabulary or other specialized language use which is part of the active vocabulary of a highly articulate speaker. The FCICE is offered only for Spanish/English, since that is the primary interpreting need in the federal judiciary.

2017 Oral Examination

  • 2017 FCICE Phase Two, Oral Examination will be offered in the summer of 2017.
  • You must pass the Written Examination to qualify for the Oral Examination.
  • Registration will be announced late spring 2017.
  • The test was offered in 2015 in 12 locations nationally and registration cost $300.
  • Testing locations and cost for the 2017 oral examination have not been determined and will not be announced until registration opens in 2017.

Contact a FCICE representative to ask questions or learn more about the program. They will respond to your email request within five business days of receipt.