

Rockville, MD 20850

Phone: (301) 358-4442 | Fax: (301) 990-9771

Email: fja@federaljudgesassoc.org | Web: www.federaljudgesassoc.org

October 20, 2020

Officers

Cynthia M. Rufe Eastern District of Pennsylvania PRESIDENT

Marilyn L. Huff Southern District of California IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT

Richard Clifton

Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals

PRESIDENT-ELECT

Karen E. Schreier District of South Dakota SECRETARY

J. Michelle Childs District of South Carolina TREASURER

Executive Committee

Nannette Jolivette Brown Eastern District of Louisiana

Leigh M. May Northern District of Georgia

Lawrence L. Piersol

District of South Dakota

Charles M. Simpson, III Western District of Kentucky

Patty Shwartz
Third Circuit Court of Appeals

Leo M. Gordon

Court of International Trade

Malachy Mannion Middle District of Pennsylvania

Dan A. Polster
Northern District of Ohio

Patti B. Saris
District of Massachusetts

The Honorable Lindsey Graham Chairman, Committee on the Judiciary 290 Russell Senate Office Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20510 The Honorable Dianne Feinstein Ranking Member, Committee on the Judiciary 331 Hart Senate Office Building Washingto, D.C. 20510

RE: Federal Judges Association Supports Senate Bill 4711 Daniel Anderl Judicial Security and Privacy Act of 2020

Dear Chairman Graham and Ranking Member Feinstein,

On behalf of the Federal Judges Association (FJA), I submit to you this urgent request to consider and to pass Senate Bill 4711, the Daniel Anderl Judicial Security and Privacy Act of 2020, named for the son of Judge Esther Salas, our colleague, who was cruelly murdered at the Judge's home by a gunman who also wounded her husband, Mark Anderl. The target of this attack may have been the Judge herself, but her son and only child was lost.

I express the view of the Federal Judges Association as an organization and am authorized to submit this statement, which does not represent the personal view of any member. The FJA is an independent, voluntary association of active, senior, retired and resigned judges of the United States federal courts, judges that were appointed by a sitting President, vetted by the Judiciary Committee, and confirmed by full Senate vote. The FJA speaks in one voice to protect the Judiciary and to explain its significance to a free society and expresses the collective interest of its Article III members to the two other branches of the government and to the public on issues related to fair and impartial courts. Our mission, in part, is to preserve and protect the independence of the Judiciary from intrusion, intimidation, coercion or domination from any source.



Rockville, MD 20850

Phone: (301) 358-4442 | Fax: (301) 990-9771

Email: fja@federaljudgesassoc.org | Web: www.federaljudgesassoc.org

Officers

Cynthia M. Rufe Eastern District of Pennsylvania PRESIDENT

Marilyn L. Huff Southern District of California IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT

Richard Clifton
Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals
PRESIDENT-ELECT

Karen E. Schreier District of South Dakota SECRETARY

J. Michelle Childs District of South Carolina TREASURER

Executive Committee

Nannette Jolivette Brown Eastern District of Louisiana

Leigh M. May Northern District of Georgia

Lawrence L. Piersol

District of South Dakota

Charles M. Simpson, III Western District of Kentucky

Patty Shwartz
Third Circuit Court of Appeals

Leo M. Gordon

Court of International Trade

Malachy Mannion

Middle District of Pennsylvania

Dan A. Polster
Northern District of Ohio

Patti B. Saris
District of Massachusetts

Judicial security is as important to our democracy as it is to the personal safety of judges, our families and our court families. In hope of obtaining stronger security protections for federal judges, the FJA's officers, executive committee and security committee have formulated specific objectives towards this goal. We continue to collaborate with the Federal Magistrate Judges Association and the National Conference of Bankruptcy Judges to advance these goals, and to offer assistance and support to the Judicial Conference and the Administrative Office of the United States Courts working on our behalf.

The FJA supports the recommendations of the Judicial Conference as promulgated in S. 4711. Its comprehensive measures are necessary to halt the increasing number of attacks on judges. They include protecting personally identifiable information of federal judges and their immediate family members and prohibiting unauthorized use or public disclosure. The bill also includes updating security monitoring systems both at judges' residences as well as courthouse premises. Moreover, the bill calls for adequate resources to monitor and to assess threats against judges. Appropriations as outlined by AO Director Duff are necessary to adequately fund these provisions.

The Federal Judges Association thanks you for your consideration and swift action on the Daniel Anderl Bill. We stand ready to work with the legislature on this important step to provide adequate judicial security to all judges in our federal system. Please contact the undersigned for questions and further information. One of our members will follow up with you as expeditiously as you may need.

Respectfully submitted,

Honorable Cynthia M. Rufe President, Federal Judges Association



1300 Piccard Drive, Suite LL 14 Rockville, MD 20850

Phone: (301) 358-4442 | Fax: (301) 990-9771

Email: fja@federaljudgesassoc.org | Web: www.federaljudgesassoc.org

Officers

Cynthia M. Rufe Eastern District of Pennsylvania PRESIDENT

Marilyn L. Huff Southern District of California IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT

Richard Clifton
Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals
PRESIDENT-ELECT

Karen E. Schreier District of South Dakota SECRETARY

J. Michelle Childs District of South Carolina TREASURER

Executive Committee

Nannette Jolivette Brown Eastern District of Louisiana

Leigh M. May Northern District of Georgia

Lawrence L. Piersol

District of South Dakota

Charles M. Simpson, III Western District of Kentucky

Patty Shwartz
Third Circuit Court of Appeals

Leo M. Gordon

Court of International Trade

Malachy Mannion Middle District of Pennsylvania

Dan A. Polster Northern District of Ohio

Patti B. Saris District of Massachusetts cc: Director James Duff, AO US Courts
Deborah Smith, President FMJA
Frank Bailey, President NCBJ

Lee_Holmes@judiciary-rep.senate.gov Michael_Fragoso@judiciary-rep.senate.gov Phillip_Brest@judiciary-dem.senate.gov William_Payne@judiciary-rep.senate.gov david_stoopler@blumenthal.senate.gov Daniel_Smith@judiciary-dem.senate.gov nick_hawatmeh@kennedy.senate.gov Aaron_Stanislawski@judiciary-dem.senate.gov Shelby Boxenbaum@menendez.senate.gov Alice_Lugo@menendez.senate.gov aaron_cummings@grassley.senate.gov donald_stevens@judiciary-rep.senate.gov wendy_baig@lee.senate.gov christy_woodruff@lee.senate.gov andrew_davis@cruz.senate.gov sean_cooksey@hawley.senate.gov brad_watts@judiciary-rep.senate.gov corey_becker@ernst.senate.gov molly_carpenter@crapo.senate.gov jessica_vu@blackburn.senate.gov david_pendle@judiciary-dem.senate.gov joseph_zogby@judiciary-dem.senate.gov daniel_swanson@judiciary-dem.senate.gov joe_gaeta@whitehouse.senate.gov ajay_kundaria@judiciary-dem.senate.gov christine_berger@hirono.senate.gov kathryn_yukevich@harris.senate.gov