U.S. Courts of Appeals Additional Authorized Judgeships

	Authorized Judgeships	Additional Judgeships Authorized						Authorized Judgeships
	1960	1961	1966	1968	1978	1984	1990	2023
Total	68	10	6, 4T	9, 4T/P	35	24	11	179
$DC^{(1)}$	9	-	-	-	2	1	-	11
First	3	-	-	-	1	2	-	6
Second	6	3	-	-	2	2	-	13
Third	7	1	-	1	1	2	2	14
Fourth	3	2	2	-	3	1	4	15
Fifth <sup>(2)</sup>	7	2	4T	2, 4T/P	11	2	1	17
Sixth	6	-	2	1	2	4	1	16
Seventh	6	1	1	-	1	2	-	11
Eighth	7	-	1	-	1	1	1	11
Ninth <sup>(1)</sup>	9	-	-	4	10	5	-	29
Tenth	5	1	-	1	1	2	2	12
Eleventh <sup>(2)</sup>	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	12
Federal <sup>(3)</sup>	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	12

Abbreviations: T=Temporary; T/P=Temporary to Permanent

Pub. L. No. 87-36, May 19, 1961

Pub. L. No. 89-372, March 18, 1966

Pub. L. No. 90-347, June 18, 1968

Pub. L. No. 95-486, October 20, 1978

Pub. L. No. 98-353, July 10, 1984

Pub. L. No. 101-650, December 1, 1990

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>(1)</sup> Pub. L. No. 110-177, January 7, 2008, transferred one judgeship from the DC Circuit to the Ninth Circuit. The loss of the judgeship in the DC Circuit was effective the date the bill became law, but the effective date of the additional judgeship for the Ninth Circuit was January 21, 2009.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>(2)</sup> Pub. L. No. 96-452, October 14, 1980, reorganized the Fifth Circuit into two circuits: the Fifth with 14 judgeships and the Eleventh with 12 judgeships.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>(3)</sup> Pub. L. No. 97-164, April 2, 1982, created the Federal Circuit with 12 judgeships.