Main content

New Chairs for Five Judicial Conference Committees

Chief Justice John Roberts Jr, has named five new Judicial Conference committee chairs and extended the terms of three current committee chairs, effective October 1, 2012. The Judicial Conference operates through a network of committees, which review issues within their established jurisdictions and make policy recommendations to the Conference.

The new committee chairs are:

Judge Lawrence L. Piersol (D. S.D. ), succeeding Judge David A. Katz (N.D. Ohio) as chair of the Committee on Audits and Administrative Office Accountability;
Judge Catherine C. Blake (D. MD), succeeding Judge Claire V. Eagan (N.D. Okla.) as chair of the Committee on Defender Services;

Judge Joel A. Pisano (D. NJ), succeeding Judge George H. King (C.D. Cal.) as chair of the Committee on the Administration of the Magistrate Judges System;

Judge Jeffrey S. Sutton (6th Cir.), succeeding Judge Mark R. Kravitz (D. Conn.) as chair of the Committee on Rules of Practice and Procedure; and

The committee chairs serving an extended term of one year are:

Judge Steven M. Colloton (8th Cir.), succeeding Judge Jeffrey S. Sutton (6th Cir.) as chair of the Advisory Committee on Appellate Rules.