Main content

Judge Edward Leavy To Receive 2015 Devitt Award

Judge Edward Leavy

Judge Edward Leavy

Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals Judge Edward Leavy is the recipient of the 2015 Edward J. Devitt Distinguished Service to Justice Award. He will formally receive the award during a special ceremony in November 2015, at the U.S. Supreme Court.

The Devitt Award honors an Article III judge who has achieved a distinguished career and made significant contributions to the administration of justice, the advancement of the rule of law, and the improvement of society as a whole. Recipients are chosen by a committee of federal judges, which this year was chaired by U.S. Supreme Court Justice Clarence Thomas.

Justice Thomas said, "Judge Leavy, during almost six decades as a judge, of which more than half have been as a federal district and court of appeals judge, has made countless and invaluable contributions to the federal judiciary and our justice system. Judge Leavy is truly an outstanding man who is deeply respected and admired by those who know him. He brings great honor and prestige to the tradition of this Award."

The Devitt Award is named for the late Edward J. Devitt, longtime chief judge of the U.S. District Court for the District of Minnesota. The award was established in 1982 and 36 federal jurists have received the honor to date.

Related Topics: Judges & Judgeships