Main content

Chief Justice Names New Executive Committee Members

Chief Justice John G. Roberts, Jr. has appointed U.S. District Judge Paul J. Barbadoro of New Hampshire to serve as chair of the Executive Committee of the Judicial Conference of the United States. The appointment took effect July 9, 2016. Also new to the Executive Committee is U.S. District Judge Robert James Conrad, Jr. of the Western District of North Carolina. His appointment became effective the same day. 

The Executive Committee serves as the senior executive arm of the Judicial Conference. All members are appointed by the Chief Justice and serve open terms. 

The current members of the Executive Committee are: 

Judge Paul J. Barbadoro, Chair District of New Hampshire
Judge Robert James Conrad Western District of North Carolina 
Chief Judge Merrick B. Garland DC Circuit
Judge Federico A. Moreno Southern District of Florida
Chief Judge William Jay Riley Eighth Circuit
Chief Judge Sidney R. Thomas Ninth Circuit
Judge Martha Vazquez District of New Mexico
James C. Duff AO Director

The 26-member Judicial Conference is the policy-making body for the federal court system. By statute the Chief Justice of the United States serves as its presiding officer and its members are the chief judges of the 13 courts of appeals, a district judge from each of the 12 geographic circuits, and the chief judge of the Court of International Trade. The Conference meets twice a year to consider administrative and policy issues affecting the court system, and to make recommendations to Congress concerning legislation involving the Judicial Branch. 

Related Topics: Judicial Conference of the United States