Main content

Most Courts in Harvey’s Path Reopen

Final update: September 18, 2017 at 1:25 p.m.

The Beaumont division of the Northern District of Texas reopened on September 18. 

Updated: September 5, 2017 at 11:10 a.m. ET

Four of five federal courthouses have reopened, after being shut down more than a week because of Tropical Storm Harvey. A fifth courthouse, in Beaumont, Texas, will be closed at least until Monday, September 11, because the city's water system is not functioning.  

Three Southern District of Texas courthouses—Galveston, Houston and Victoria—reopened on Tuesday, September 5, as did the Lufkin courthouse in the Eastern District of Texas. 

People who need to be at one of the reopened courthouses, but cannot get there because of transportation or other issues, should contact their court. Contact information is available at the Southern District of Texas and Eastern District of Texas websites.

Related Topics: Emergency Preparedness