Main content

Judge Jon O. Newman to Receive 2016 Devitt Award

Senior Judge Jon O. Newman, of the United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit, will receive the 2016 Edward J. Devitt Distinguished Service to Justice Award, in a special ceremony Thursday at the U.S. Supreme Court. 

Judge Jon O. Newman

Judge Jon O. Newman

In an unprecedented move, the selection committee, made up of federal judges and headed by Supreme Court Justice Elena Kagan, also designated one of Newman’s Second Circuit colleagues, Senior Judge Ralph K. Winter, to be the Devitt Award winner in 2017.

“We recognize two richly and equally deserving judges who, for nearly 35 years, have served together as twin pillars of the Second Circuit,” Justice Kagan said in a statement.

“Judge Newman and Judge Winter are both widely recognized as brilliant jurists and thoughtful scholars,” Justice Kagan added. “During their service together, they have each made extraordinary contributions to the administration of justice and the training of younger judges. In senior status, they remain deeply engaged in the work of the courts. Their sequential selection reflects their many accomplishments and the deep respect and admiration of their colleagues and all who know them.”

In a statement, Judge Newman described the award as “an overwhelming honor.”

The Devitt Award honors an Article III judge who has achieved a distinguished career and made significant contributions to the administration of justice, the advancement of the rule of law, and the improvement of society as a whole.

The Devitt Award is named for the late Edward J. Devitt, longtime chief judge of the U.S. District Court for the District of Minnesota. The award was established in 1982. 

Related Topics: Awards & Honors